I was born in Nice, and spent all my summers in Nice at my grandmother’s place. When I moved to the US, there were some things I really missed. So every time I would come back home I would buy the same products to take with me. And now that I am back in Nice those still are my favorite products.

fruits confits auerThe candied fruits from Auer, especially the whole clementines. They also have some lovely candies in the shape of pebbles with chocolate inside, that I still like to buy as a gift to visitors to remind them of the beach of Nice. Maison AUER, Chocolaterie Confiserie, 7 Rue St François de Paule, Nice.

olive oil canAn olive oil can from Alziari; it is not only for the taste but the can itself is absolutely gorgeous. When I was a kid and we had guests, we would go into the shop and buy olives, the small black mediterranean kind and some tapenade for appetizers. Moulin a Huile d’Olive Alziari, 14 rue saint François de Paule, Nice.

Florian jamSome candied fruit jam from Florian; I remember as a kid visiting the factory, savoring the sweet sugary smells and tasting all the jams that I could, I had a fondness for the rose petals jam that I would eat straight from the jar. Confiserie Florian du Vieux Nice 14, Quai Papacino, Nice.

Je suis née a Nice, et c’est la que j’ai passé tous mes étés chez ma grand-mère. Quand je suis partie vivre aux Etats-Unis, j’ai pris l’habitude de ramener les produits qui me rappelaient la France et que je ne pouvais trouver là-bas. Maintenant que j’habite de nouveau à Nice, je prends plaisir à acheter ces mêmes produits qui sont ma Madeleine de Proust.

Les fruits confits de chez Auer, les clémentines entières que nous achetait ma grand-mère et aussi les bonbons au chocolat en forme de galet, que j’aime toujours offrir à des visiteurs en souvenir de la plage de Nice et de ses fameux galets. Maison AUER, Chocolaterie Confiserie, 7 Rue St François de Paule, Nice.

Un container d’huile d’olive Alziari; pas seulement pour le gout qui est inégalable mais aussi pour le container métallique bleu qui est extrêmement décoratif. Nous allions souvent à la Boutique Alziari lorsque nous avions des invités pour leur servir ces petites olives noires fruitées et de la tapenade avec l’apéritif. Moulin a Huile d’Olive Alziari, 14 rue saint François de Paule, Nice.

 La confiture de fruits confits de Florian; Je me souviens avoir visité la fabrique à coté du port, renifler les odeurs sucrées presque écœurantes et gouter au plus grand nombre de confitures possibles. J’adorais en particulier la confiture de pétales de rose que je mangeais a la petite cuillère…Confiserie Florian du Vieux Nice 14, Quai Papacino, Nice.